Republic of India

The Republic of India is the seventh largest and the second most populous counry, which lies on the Indian subcontinent in South Asia. It borders Pakistan to the west, China, Bhutan and Nepal to the north, Bangladesh to the east and the island of Sri Lanka to the south. Administratively it is a federal constitutional republic governed under a parliamentary system consisting of 7 union territories and 28 states with their own elected governments.

Formed in 1947, British India was divided into West Pakistan and East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) and India. During the whole second half of the 20th century the Kashmir dispute between India and Pakistan has become an intractable conflict and Kashmir is still politically divided. India is a member of the UN, SAARC, G-20, IMF, WTO, SAFTA and the partner of ASEAN.


3,287,263 km2


1.173 billion

Capital city:

New Delhi (12.8 million)

Other major cities:

Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, Jaipur


Parliamentary republic (President Pratibha Patil)


Indian rupee, Central bank exchange rate fixing


Time zone:

GMT +5.5


automotive industry, textile industry, IT industry, electronics, energy, infrastructure, chemical industry, telecommunications

Macroeconomic indicators (2010):


USD 1,704 billion (+ 10.4 %)

GDP per Capita:

USD 1,382


10.7 %


13.2 %

Interest rate:

5.5 %

Public debt:

69.2 % of GDP

Public finance

9.2 % of GDP

Credit Rating:

Standard & Poor's: BBB-/Stable/A-
Moody's rating: Baa3