Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is a landlocked country, which lies in Central Europe, bordering Germany to the west, Poland to the north, Slovakia to the east and Austria to the south. It is divided into 14 administrative regions and the capital city is Prague.

In 1918, the independent republic of Czechoslovakia was formed and then divided into the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993. The Czech Republic is a member of the UN, NATO, OECD, WTO, Council of Europe, OSCE, EEA, EU, Schengen and the Visegrad Group.


78.884 km2


10.5 million

Capital city:

Prague (1.2 million)

Other major cities:

Brno, Ostrava, Plzen, Olomouc, Liberec, Karolovy Vary


Parliamentary republic (President Vaclav Klaus)


Czech koruna, Central bank exchange rate fixing


engineering, metallurgy, chemical industry, energy, automotive, food processing, glass, aviation

Time zone:

GMT +1 (DST – GMT +2)

Macroeconomic indicators (2010):


CZK 3 668 billion (USD 218.363 billion, + 2.3 %)

GDP per Capita:

CZK 348,928 (USD 20,738)


7.3 %


1.5 %

Interest rate:

0.75 % (2T Repo rate), 1.75 % (Lombard rate)

Public debt:

39.6 % of GDP

Public finance

5.4 % of GDP

Terms of Trade:

-2.9 %

Credit Rating:

Standard & Poor's: AA-
Moody's rating: A1